More Than I

Today I picked up my Oldest Son during a downpour. As we left the front door of his friend’s house I held the little umbrella up over his head. He didn’t realize I had one at first, and he was afraid of the rain and of getting his video game controller wet so he was immediately grateful. He looked back and said “What about you, you don’t have one?” Meaning the umbrella. I told him I didn’t need one, I loved him more. He said “More than yourself, you love me? I thought you loved me and you equally.” I laughed at him and hugged him under the umbrella and told him that’s not how it works. He was so surprised.

1 Comment

Filed under ASD, Asperger's, Autism, Child Psychology, SIngle Parenting, Uncategorized

One response to “More Than I

  1. Awww this is so beautiful πŸ˜˜πŸ’“πŸŒ·

Leave a Reply

