One Step

The latest regression for my autistic son has also hit his toileting. I have to put him on a schedule, something he has not needed since he was three. He had been pretty good at hiding it from me, I noticed he had a lot more laundry but I put it down to paranoia, because my kids will change their entire outfit if they get a drop of water on them.

He has been informed that I need to talk to his doctor about his lack of sensation/control. He does not want me to discuss it at his annual visit in front of his siblings, so I will be messaging the doctor tomorrow in advance of his scheduled appointment.

He has, however, regained some skill in bathing. I do have to make sure the tub does not overflow, because he cannot seem to tell when to turn off the water anymore, but he washed and dried himself yesterday after I managed his water level. His aversion to water is also lessening, he no longer assumes he has become blind when water touches his face, he can now open his eyes when his face is wet. So that is a huge improvement.

We are working on it.

I think I need to get him neurologically tested to rule out any physical cause for his regressions. Like seizures. Hopefully the doc will refer us.

Leave a comment

Filed under ADHD, ASD, Asperger's, Autism, Child Psychology, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

