Physical Therapy, or Scary Movie?

So my oldest son, being autistic, has floppy, weak muscles. This leads to all sorts of issues, from fine motor problems to a lack of coordination and worst for me, no stamina whatsoever.

Winter makes it worse, he won´t go out in the snow unless we are sledding.

So I was commenting on this with his physical therapist and she upped his appointments to once a week. Great for his body, bad for my income. Totally worth it.

His morning appointments have been going swimmingly. He has always been far more capable in the morning. By late afternoon he is bumping into things and falling over himself. So today we had his second morning appointment and I was quite happy about it. We got there a few minutes early.

In the waiting room he is reading a book facing away from me, and I can tell he is picking his nose. This is the worst part of his particular brand of ASD, so far. You cannot pick your nose and then go to therapy, you are going to be handling equipment that other people use! So I tell him to get to the restroom and wash up, and he does. I forget that he is afraid of this bathroom. He is afraid of any bathroom, really, unless I am inside it with him. But I cannot follow him into the restroom, he will never gain any tolerance if I go in with him every time. So after he initially goes in he calls me over a minute later. Not unexpected.

What was unexpected was that when I look at him as I am walking over is that his nose is gushing blood. I tell him his nose is bleeding. He tells me he knows.

I push the door open and notice the doorjamb is smeared with blood. Like a horror flick. But what is worse is what is waiting inside the door. Remember, he was only in the bathroom for a minute. Any normal kid would run to the sink and put a paper towel over his nose while trying to get the blood off, right?

Not mine.

Mine has written on the bathroom wall, just inside the door, the words ¨help me¨ in blood. In that one minute.

I don´t know whether to be proud of his sense of the dramatic, or angry at the biohazard he spread around in the clinic.

 

 

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under ADHD, ASD, Asperger's, Autism, Child Psychology, ODD, PTSD, SIngle Parenting, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Physical Therapy, or Scary Movie?

  1. Bwahahaha! That is one awesome kid. 🙂

  2. Medical Inheritance

    That is awesome! XD

Leave a Reply

