Insurance and Things

So I wrote an ¨appeal¨ in the form of a letter to the state´s subsidized insurance, requesting that they reconsider denying my son his medication and pointing out that there is little point in subsidizing my insurance if they want me to spend a quarter of my income or more on medications. I also reminded them that doctors prescribe medicine, not insurance representatives.

Somehow, miraculously, that worked. Well, sort of. They are going to cover my son for four more months. Why four months? Because that is the estimated time in which I will fill up my deductible and my own insurance will begin covering my son´s medication again. Which means I have to be ready for this again at the next New Year.

So I won´t get my money back, nor will I get a guarantee that they will cover my son, but I do get a sort of respite until the next holiday season.

Both of my boy children are now obsessed with the protagonists in their recurring nightmares. My middle child has long been interested in animals with menacingly sharp teeth, and my oldest is now playing Five Nights At Freddy´s- which he has declared his new favorite, topping the Minecraft he was playing for years. A huge step up from when he would become paralyzed at the mention of the game.

So this is probably a good development, that they face fears and lessen the effect of those nightmares. My middle child, however, has not had a single nightmare since I removed dairy from his diet. Which I find very interesting and is a cause of some regret, for if I had known, of course I would have done it years ago.

All of my children show evidence of milk sensitivities. The baby will be five (I know, I know, I should stop referring to her as ¨the baby¨) in a few months and I am going to try removing dairy from the house at that time. We will see what happens. Their father is lactose intolerant, so it only makes sense. If the children´s permanent sniffles and skin issues clear up, it will be worth it.

All the single moms I know are unhappily dating or getting over breakups, or even leaving their children with relatives so they can move closer to their partners. I am so very glad to be spared the emotional upheaval. I would have no patience for dating and zero tolerance for any uncertainties. Our life is settled and predictable, I think I have successfully created an environment in which the children and myself can heal-if their progress is any indication. Even if the man I spoke to last year decided he wanted to rekindle something I would not have the space for it. I have no appetite for it anymore. I want to give my time to my kids. I mean, I already do, I just don´t want to change how it is. They seem happier than they have ever been.

My middle child is reluctant to tie, zip, or button things. So my oldest son´s OT wants him to be evaluated, and she wants to see my oldest weekly to work on his stamina and his trunk, because winter has made him a bit weaker than he was during his bike riding summer. So our appointments, which I had been keeping at a manageable five per week are about to jump back up to seven again. In sixty days we start practicing for our service dog who will arrive with the following year, the children will have to take walks every day and we will designate a quiet spot for the dog to ¨go on break¨ where children may not intrude. A corner somewhere, I suppose.

Some neighbor kids just took over my downstairs. I have to go supervise..

 

2 Comments

Filed under ADHD, ASD, Asperger's, Autism, Child Abuse, Child Psychology, Domestic Abuse, Domestic Violence, Medication, PTSD, SIngle Parenting, Trauma, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Insurance and Things

  1. You do have plenty of challenges.

Leave a Reply

