Progress, or Detox?

It is the third day since Middle Son gave up milk again.

He was unable to think of any solution to these fits he keeps having, so I told him I would be tickling him when I pick him up and again when we get home.

We call it his ¨medicine¨.

It worked well today. He did lose control later in the evening and began crying a few times, unable to handle his frustration, but I stayed close and helped him address the issue each time-without rescuing him.

I hope to see a major change before a week is out.

Today he saw the skills therapist, to whom I told everything, EVERYTHING, even my own mistakes in handling yesterday´s fit. Oddly enough, he did approve of my technique of throwing a simultaneous fit at myself to demonstrate the absurdity of the fit. Which I know now only escalates the issue. Apparently it works on other children. I am going to make a sign and put it above the kitchen sink. It is only going to say Tickle Him. So I don´t forget what to do if he comes up to me and starts hitting again. I am nearly always at the sink.

He had some processed food for snack this week, cereal bars. Next week he will not, I will go back to baking huge quantities of food on the weekends so he can have his low sugar preservative-dairy-peanut-dye free snacks again. It was nice to have a  weekend off, but it cannot last forever. I wish I were up earlier to make a real breakfast, but I spend so much time in the kitchen already that I think it would just exhaust me.

I am glad he sees the psychologist tomorrow. She is a great resource.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Progress, or Detox?

  1. I had a grandson who did meltdowns a lot when he is four and five. I ignored him while he was melting down and then I would get him to use his words and we would talk and I would explain decisions or whatever the problem was. We had long talks but the meltdowns stopped. Hugs, Barbara

  2. The tickling works with my 9 year old too. First I echo back whatever he just said in anger-in question form….then I tickle. When my 9 year old granddaughter is here and he melts down, she hugs him and says.”Re-group”. It is very sweet.

    • That is lovely. My daughter will often come and hug her brother when he is crying, I just wish he appreciated it. Maybe when he is older. The tickling thing is priceless. Now I am able to defuse him by flexing my fingers in claw shape and telling him to ¨come get your medicine¨ in a singsong voice! He stops whining and starts laughing every time.

Leave a Reply

