Runaways

Today the boys got off the bus at daycare and decided to walk home. The staff inside realized that they had not come in and chased them down the street, they got about a block before they were caught, about a fourth of their journey accomplished.

I think the new director had better appoint someone to meet the bus, like they used to do.

I asked the boys what they would do once they got home, how would they get in? The lightbulb went off and all they said was “Oh..”.

So they are in a bit of trouble tonight, lost a privilege or two. Because, as I explained to them, if they cannot leave the house without asking an adult, how could they think they were allowed to leave the daycare?

The director replaced nearly all the staff recently. The children do not know their new teachers. The teachers do not know that Oldest Child is fitted with a tracking device that pings straight to the county sheriff. Because he is considered an at-risk wanderer. And, a week after I began mulling over having the device removed, I’ve decided to keep it on him. Because today.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Runaways

  1. Scary. Yes, keeping it on him is a good idea.

  2. I didn’t know they had devices like that to help protect children like Oldest. Glad to hear it!

  3. Sounds like a good idea to keep it on! Sometimes I feel like all children need one… partially because I remember how, when I was a kid, my brother and I went all over the place (we even used to take the train into the neighboring towns) when our parents thought we were just out in the neighborhood!

Leave a Reply

