To The Zoo!

Today we went to the zoo, the children and my mother.

I had my mother in a wheelchair, so she would not tire. I had the children taking turns in a stroller, so they would not tire, which I suppose backfired on me, since they had to push each other, too.

When it got too much for the children I pushed the stroller a ways, parked the kids there, and went back for the wheelchair.

It was a fantastic workout. I think I burnt half my caloric intake. I bet I looked a mess, but I was really happy, and never tired.

They whined a lot in the beginning, Middle Child was tired to begin with. I think he gets more rest than I know in the day care, and for certain he gets a nap.

Overall, I think they did well. I did have to dose them twice in the day with various forms of ice cream to keep their strength up. I have to add ice cream sandwiches to the list of things they like.

We did not see as much of the animals as I wanted, but we did explore some fantastic play spaces, which I did want to accomplish this visit. There are four very different play areas and they spent significant time in each of them.

My mother tired after two hours, and I am not sure why, since she never even walked a block, but we set her by the sharks to have a little nap while we gazed at weird ocean creatures nearby and explored faux tidal pools. She perked up an hour later and we went outside for one last long play before we left.

I got a membership. Which might not be the best investment I ever made, since the zoo is much further than my comfort zone, but I figure it will force me to go back and get my money’s worth.

I can keep my kids in a triangle of three small towns, but I probably shouldn’t.

Hopefully we can see all the animals before my membership expires. We have only explored half of the zoo!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “To The Zoo!

  1. Love to hear about your days with your kids.

Leave a Reply

