Boundaries

I have poor boundaries.

I pick up other people’s children when they fall down. I push them on the swings if they ask me. I answer their questions and help them get their toys out of trees and fix their bicycles.

Children in my house are welcome to eat whenever they are hungry. I have house rules, of course, and guidelines about what food at what times, but I will feed them. I do remember to ask their mother, but it is an afterthought. Children who have mothers familiar with me no longer have to ask. Their mothers know I am not going to load their kids up with candy.

In the evenings I take watermelon slices outside and any child with permission from their mother can have some. I do the same with homemade juice pops, store bought freezies, and homemade cookies.

I let children come into my house to play, even if not with my own children. I have a lot of open space for play, a lot of furniture appropriate for child play, as I need to encourage my son with his OT at home.

If a child is in my house, his or her mother can walk right in. It seems ridiculous to require a mother to knock when retrieving her child. I have nothing to keep her waiting for, nothing to hide.

I turn children away at the door only when a member of my household is sick. Today is one of those days. It is very quiet in here. I can hardly think, with only three children present.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Boundaries

  1. I hope your son is better. Your sounds like a healthy place.

  2. I don’t think those are boundary issues unless you don’t want the kids there! You sound like an awesome neighbor and friend.

  3. Courtney

    Sounds like a fun place. Not a problem with boundaries, just an awesome neighbor 🙂

Leave a Reply

