Bullying

My Autistic child is a bully. He does not like children that his siblings prefer, his jealousy gets the best of him and he bullies. He talks over them, he breaks their block towers, just really inappropriate stuff.
Today a child told a teacher that my son had been picking on him in the daycare.
I was glad he told. How would I know if he did not say something?
I had a long talk with my son. I told him if he did not behave the way I expect everyone in our family to behave towards children big or small, but especially small, then he would not be taking technology classes until he could show that he can get along with other children. His classes are a privilege that can be lost. He starts one class tomorrow. He has this week to show his good behaviour and apologize to the little boy, or he can kiss the rest of the classes goodbye, and the cost be damned. Though I did not put it to him like that. I was nice but straightforward. I did not get angry. He did say that he could imagine how it would feel to be treated that way, and that he would not like it. I have been trying to teach him this concept since he started speaking. Empathy does not come natural to him.
I hope he gets it.
I don’t know if it would help or hurt for me to talk to the little boy myself. I thanked the teacher, and I suppose I can pass a message to him through her. I did let her know that of course the parents can contact me if they want to. We haven’t got a parent directory published for daycare, so I suppose I gave permission for my number to be given out.
I had better remember this for the psychologist and the therapist. He sees both next week.

4 Comments

Filed under ASD, Asperger's, Autism, Bully, Bullying, PTSD

4 responses to “Bullying

  1. Reblogged this on tarussellauthor and commented:
    Hang in there. You are doing the right thing.

  2. Glad you’re able to pull in other adults to help you help him! None of us are born knowing how to get along well (and safely) with others, so we all had to undergo some journey of learning.

Leave a Reply

