Special Education Just Got More Special

My oldest son’s special education teacher just called. She has noticed a great deal of anxiety, misuse of the word ¨boring¨ (my son uses it in the British sense, which is confusing to an American elementary teacher, rightfully so), and a general dislike of the mainstream class he is in. My son has been asking more often to go to the special education room to get his work done in quiet.
She wants to pull him out of the mainstream class, but give him the same academic lessons, and break them up with OT and sensory ¨lessons¨.
I want my son to learn.
He is going to a psychiatric evaluation this week. It has been about a year now since he has become afraid to be in a room by himself, and the county insisted he be evaluated, based on observation of his behaviour. They thought he had ADHD. I thought not. He is just like that, I said. He gets bored, distracted, he gets curious -off topic. Oops, my bad, because that is what ADHD is!
His ADHD test came out with a zero attention span. Yet he can focus when he has the drive. The child taught himself to read in a few months, when this same teacher saw him go home for the summer not reading, and come back for the next grade, fluent. She says his comprehension is good. She said his big issue is skipping superfluous words in reading aloud. I told her to give him Hemingway. Hemingway doesn’t use any superfluous words. She didn’t know that. I thought everyone knew that. I suppose my son would make a great auditor, if he could winnow finances and companies like he does with sentences. I suppose right now he would be an editor.
Kidding aside, I know he has the mind to learn, if he is interested in the subject matter. I am so lucky to have a son who likes robotics, engineering, and Minecraft. He has been telling me every single day that he hates school. I hope this helps. I want him to love learning. Hell, I want him to love living. I could care less if he is a straight A student. I want him to love being alive, to be comfortable in his own skin.
Conferences are in a week. If she pulls him out of mainstream now, we should have something to discuss then, and be able to tell if he is more open to learning in the microcosm of his special education room.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Special Education Just Got More Special

  1. CrazyHairMom

    My now 13 year old went through this last year in sixth grade. Solution: He was basically in a class room with one teacher that had small groups of less than 10 coming to her class to do their reading/comprehension.
    For some reason when we entered sixth grade my son became increasingly annoyed in his regular class room setting. The solution was a trial thing but seemed to work out well. He still went to speech therapy and counseling and activities.
    He seemed to do his work in his new setting and enjoyed the quieter class room. Personally I feel that his problem was more of him disliking the teacher and said teacher not having control in her class room than my son having attention problems. But the solution worked out swimmingly. Also I dont know if this would be of help but in previous years teachers have had to give my son harder classwork to keep him occupied. For instance he was doing some 5th and 6th grade lessons when he was in 3rd and 4th. This helped because in his mind the teachers current assignment was boring or baby like. Therefore he just would not waste his time completing the assignment. When they gave him harder work he did the work just fine.

    • Yes, that sounds like my son. But his teacher is fantastic. I think the issue is that his auditory dysfunction and the inconsistency with different paras going in and out is just overwhelming. He needs that quiet group, where no one notices or cares if he is bouncing up and down during class discussion. I am sure he is disruptive to the mainstream class, and not to the special ed class. He does need advanced reading, but all his teachers are with me on that one. I am just grateful the school will work with me and I hope it continues through all grades. The parents of older children have been warning me that things change.

      • The focus on things he s interested in is typical ADHD.

      • Ah, the hyper focus. It plays right in with his ASD, then.

      • CrazyHairMom

        Yes I must say I am not as thrilled with our highschool (7th-12th) as I was with our elementary (k-6th). I dont think the staff really understand my son like they did in the elementary . Even though we met with them several times throughout the summer and the end of last school year. I myself am hoping to buckle down on some issues with my sons I.e.p in may this year to help him succeed in the nect schol year.
        If the school is willing to work with you praise them and praise them. I know people who have not been so lucky. We have already decided on homeschooling if highschool gets to overwhelming. But I am praying my son gets to stay in public school.
        I know what its like. Just take it day by day and make sure your son is getting the best education he can.

      • I am hoping to get his good study habits deeply ingrained by high school, so that if he needs to homeschool or early community college, he would be ready. I know so many people who pull their ASD kids out at that age.

Leave a Reply

