The Secret Phone Friend

Do you remember, a long time ago, I posted about my friend, my friend with the secret phone? The doctor gave me her number, said she was all alone and in a bad situation, no support. Would I text her?
Of course I did. I have been. She went quiet at the start of the school year. I did not think much of it, we all get overwhelmed at the start of a new school year. I heard from her a few weeks ago, nothing new.
Today I got a text telling me she was in a shelter, filing a protection order next week.
Good for her. I was elated.
I wish her all the best. Today I have been looking up phone numbers for her, offering advice. Maybe someday I will get to meet her. I only know her first name, and that she does not spell properly when sending long texts.
I think it has been a year since I started speaking to her via text on the secret phone. It has been twenty since she found herself in this situation. Now she is free.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Secret Phone Friend

  1. Always wonderful to hear someone made it out

Leave a Reply

