Things I Ought To Remember To Tell The Psychologist

The children’s psychologist has been on vacation in a far away land, for a few weeks. My son said, yesterday, ¨I wish she would come back.¨ I gave him a hug and explained that next Friday we will see her.
When we do, I should tell her these things:
My son has been getting out of bed without screaming about being afraid. I do not know if this is particular to autism or proof that he still has PTSD, but for a few months he would not get out of bed without someone standing in the doorway. He also would not go to the bathroom unless I was standing in that doorway. For a few days now, there has been none of this. Not from his younger brother, either, who was the same about going into empty rooms. But younger brother has PTSD, and I was like that, at his age.

The boys have been resolving their own disagreements mostly without deteriorating into fights. I have been doing far less intervention.

Middle child has been demonstrating more empathy than he has been showing aggression. And, as if that were not a big enough improvement, he has been asking me for help when he is losing control. This means his symptoms have calmed enough that he is learning to recognize his mood swings and HOW TO FIX THEM. Self advocacy, self regulation. I love hearing him tell me that I need to squish him or tickle him.

The county is going to refer oldest son to the same provider that monitors middle child’s medications. Meaning, they want an evaluation done, because he probably needs ADHD meds.

Oldest child forgets things, immediately. Which explains why, when I tell him to go put on his socks, I find him putting Legos together instead. He forgot why he went into his bedroom in the first place. He has been telling me, lately, that he has forgotten something, can I tell him again? Poor kid. Think of all the times I was exasperated at him to do something that I had told him to do a minute before, with him doing something else, and it was not his fault. No wonder he gets grumpy when I ask him to do stuff. It wasn’t that he didn’t care, he just forgot.
Middle child had a superhero dream again. Instead of nightmares involving teeth and being bit, he had a dream about flying and having superpowers. About time. The kid deserves decent sleep and happy dreams.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Things I Ought To Remember To Tell The Psychologist

  1. nicegirlsproblems

    hugs. i am very new here my daughter and i suffered something very terrible too and because of that she wont stay alone in a room…getting therapy…

    • I have two kids like that. I keep trying to tell them that all doors are open and it is a tiny apartment, but they don’t buy it! I do a lot of standing in doorways for them. I wish you both a thorough recovery. My daughter was a year old, so she recovered quickly.

Leave a Reply

