Autism Spectrum, Where We Sit – and Faces

I had my evaluation done yesterday on my oldest, by a professional he had seen before, which was much appreciated.

Many of his symptoms have abated since last year. His behaviours have improved, while his academic performance has suffered.

He is now nearly off the spectrum, barely autistic. If Asperger’s were still in the DSM, he would be diagnosed with that, as he is off the charts with those symptoms.

So he is an Aspie, and a much improved Autie.

If I had been able to get him assessed in infancy, he would have scored more autistic. I had nurses heavily involved in his development who said it was a phase, and doctors who literally pretended not to hear me back then.

Many questions today I answered with ¨not anymore¨. I attribute these improvements to his OT, definitely, and perhaps to my emphasis on facial recognition of emotion and conscious instruction in empathy.

I have noticed something else recently. He does not recognize people. He cannot seem to discern between one face and another on his friends, or mine. If some of the basic features are the same (fat, thin, large eyes, thin eyes), he is confident it is whoever he sees the most often. He has always mistaken his friends in crowds, or thought he saw someone he knew, but after two mistaken identities in two days on people he sees weekly, I am paying closer attention. I better bring it up to the doctor.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Autism Spectrum, Where We Sit – and Faces

  1. My neck is giving me a headache

    Doctors tried to tell me that my boys had autism spectrum disorder as well. Be careful. Children that that are in an environment like ours were very often are not autistic at all. They are acting the only way they know how to act. And as for the facial recognition thing? He could have facial blindness. My brother and I also cannot recognize friends or relatives in a crowd for that matter. My daughter on the other had can recognize someone she hasn’t seen for 15 years.

    • Yes, I have been very cautious. His PTSD is no longer evident, and he has been different in some ways since birth. He has a very obvious auditory dysfunction for certain sounds, not all sounds. Now that he is unable to retain his lessons in school, and in fact worsens, it all finally came together. I think most likely he will keep the Aspie and shed the autism in a few more years, as he does respond well to his treatments. I was able to correct his teachers evaluation regarding some things that correlate to trauma, and he still came up on the spectrum for the school district (well, they rated him technically Aspie, too, but the resulting effect is the same). I appreciate the advice, I am winging all this.

  2. My neck is giving me a headache

    My son graduated from a tech school last year at the top of his class. The other one I’m still hoping he’ll find his way, hugs!

    • Ah, the top of the class! Fantastic! My son is well on his way to tech. He has very strong interests there. I hope yours finds his passion, it makes life so gratifying. Hugs!

  3. DarcSunshine

    I would love it if you would be willing to guest blog for Youth of a Nation. The topics you write about are so important and I would like it if more people realized this. If you are interested here is my link to my guest blogging page. Thank you! http://youthofanation.com/guest-blogging/

Leave a Reply

