Special Needs Kickball

Today we had special needs kickball. Before I signed up the boys for it, I spoke with the community education coordinator, to explain that my kids had very different needs. So far every kid there has been able to kick, but today a child came who needs someone to kick his foot for him, and then run on his behalf. He seems a friendly boy, he gave my boys high fives and was introduced. All differently abled children.

The other children listen better than my boys do. The therapists are very patient with my children, even when they are pushing limits and intentionally giving them a hard time. It is so nice to see people work with them, rather than throw up their hands or insist that I beat them. So far the people who are the best with my kids are the professionals, or very young daycare workers with oodles of patience and smiles.

Somehow I still haven’t met anyone here for my kids to play with, though I have invited a few families over. I don’t know if we don’t know anyone else because I am wary, if we don’t know anyone because they are wary, if we don’t know anyone because I am too busy with my kids and don’t socialize, I don’t know if it is because I don’t get the culture (surely I must, by now)… and it all seems a Catch 22. Yesterday we ran into a family I like from our daycare at the park, and the mother offered to get me the card for her church. I am sure she meant well. But it felt suspiciously as if she could not socialize outside of her church. It’s a very Christian area, that I live in. They couldn’t possibly know how I felt about religion, and if they did, they would probably fail to see how my experiences could apply to theirs.

I thought this kickball would be a nice way to get to know some of the other parents who understand children who are a bit different, but unlike other community sports, the parents drop the children off and leave. Last year we did T-ball, and the parents brought chairs and hung out until all their kids were done. I was trying to do the same, but I had kids on the playground and kids on the field and I could hardly sit still. 

Sometimes I get tired. Today I was relieved. People were helping my kids learn how to behave appropriately, with patience. Not judging them or myself.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Special Needs Kickball

  1. From an ink smeared page

    sounds like a great program for the kids

  2. You sound like a very good mom, doing the best you can. I know all about ADHD, PTSD, and Asperger’s Syndrome. I have ADHD and PTSD, along with many other things and I have a very high functioning son with Asperger’s. I have 4 kids and we all have ADHD. Don’t think this house isn’t an interesting one. LOL Are you new to the area where you currently live? I’m sure in due time you’ll know all kinds of people, especially if you’re kids are involved in sports or other activities. I know, once we’re adults with kids, it’s hard to meet new people unless we belong to some kind of club or something, but for me, I met a lot of my friends from activities that my kids were involved in. It’s really nice that there are a lot of activities available for special needs kids, didn’t used to be that way. Take care. 🙂

  3. Usually in small towns, everyone knows everyone, so hopefully, it won’t be long and you’ll fit right in and have more friends than you can handle. I wish you the best on your journey. I’m always here, well almost always unless I’m having surgery or I’m really sick, so don’t hesitate, if you need to vent or want to talk. Every once in awhile I have to take a break and focus on my health, but I always come back because I have a lot of friends right here. Being chronically ill and permanently disabled, I don’t know what I would do if it wasn’t for this computer and blogging. Blogging is very therapeutic for me. Have a great night and an even better tomorrow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

