Today the daycare called as I was leaving

Today the daycare called as I was leaving work later than usual. “Your daughter says there is a rock in her nose.” The acting director tells me. “I looked, and it is up there pretty good, so we are having her keep her finger out of there and thought we had better tell you right away.”

I can’t keep her finger out of there. Why does she listen to daycare staff, and not I?

So I get there and I block one nostril and then blow hard into her mouth to get it to pop out. Once, twice, thrice. Nothing. Pack up the boys and get everyone in the car to drive to the ER. Where the nurse has me block one nostril and blow a short, hard blast into her mouth. The rock pops out. I have no idea how she got such a big jagged rock up there without hurting herself. But she is fine. The hospital says they won’t charge me, because I was the acting doctor. 

The boys call me Doctor Mommy all the way home. 

I can’t decide how I feel about the incident, but I am keeping the damn rock.

Leave a comment

July 2, 2013 · 1:35 am

Leave a Reply

